The Jewish Eye

Targum Neofiti 1: Genesis

Home | What's Nu? | Bookstore | Reviews | Resources | About

Targum Neofiti 1: Genesis

buy at

Targum Neofiti 1: Genesis
(The Aramaic Bible, Volume 1A)
By Martin McNamara
Michael Glazier, 1992, 271 pages
ISBN-10: 0814654762
ISBN-13: 978-0814654767

Reviewed by Israel Drazin - July 22, 2010

The word Targum means translation or explanation. The Targums are Aramaic translations of the Hebrew Bible. There are three complete Targums to the Pentateuch, the Five Books of Moses. These three Targums were composed by different translators with different agendas during the first millennium for Jews who no longer understood biblical Hebrew. There are also fragments of other Targums. The Michael Glazier series of nineteen books offers scholars who know little Aramaic an English translation of the Targums. This is the first book in the series.

The Targum translators did not always translate literally. They made many changes in their writings for over a dozen reasons. These included alterations to clarify Scripture, to offer readers a more elevated portrayal of Israelite ancestors, to remove some but not all portrayals of God having human features and performing human-like actions, and to clarify some, but not all biblical metaphors and other figures of speech.

The Neofiti Targum, one of the three, was housed in the Vatican for many centuries and only rediscovered in the 1960s. Scholars differ when in the first millennium the Targum was composed. The name Neofiti 1 is the way the Vatican catalogued the Targum.

The translation contains many additions that the translator apparently felt that his audience should know. For example, while the Pentateuch does not mention the messiah and life after death, the translator interprets some biblical verses to speak on these subjects.

Some examples of Neofiti additions are:

Dr. Israel Drazin is the author of seventeen books, including a series of five volumes on the Aramaic translation of the Hebrew Bible, which he co-authors with Dr. Stanley M. Wagner, and a series of four books on the twelfth century philosopher Moses Maimonides. The Orthodox Union (OU) and Yeshiva University publish weekly chapters of Drazin and Wagner's book Let's Study Onkelos on and on His website is

The views expressed in this review/article are those of the author, and do not necessarily reflect the views of The Jewish Eye.
Related Reviews:
Back to top

Questions or Comments? Send an email to:

Copyright The Jewish Eye 2010 - All Rights Reserved